…And The Blogosphere Goes Nuts

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

…And that includes me.

To borrow the line of the late President Ford (in another transfer of power, under much different circumstance), “Our long national nightmare is over.”  As of this moment, I feel I can breathe freely again. The right to dissent has been restored, the right to the pursuit of happiness is once again possible.
I don’t know how our new President will do, I still have reservations about him. However, I was impressed by his Inaugural Address; by his inclusiveness, by the enumeration of tasks ahead.

I know it would be said no matter who was being sworn in, but I do feel that he means what he said. Perhaps it was the lifting of the feeling of gloom (yes, and doom) that has permeated every aspect of life for so many years that made his words so believable. Maybe it’s just that I want to believe.

 May God bless and guide our new President Obama & Vice President Biden and help them to make wise choices.

 
And now, a little snarkiness. For the last several days, I’ve had a vision & hope that immediately after Obama finished taking the Oath Of Office, Marines would swarm in & slap the cuffs on Bush & Cheney and drag them off. Didn’t happen (I pretty much knew it wouldn’t), but the thought sure cheered me! Yes, I can be an uncharitable bitch – it’s part of my charm. 😉

About pegsiskatzencats

Middle aged cat lady, flaming liberal, gardener extrordinaire, I live for the Cubs, & HATE hot weather. Chicagoland native, I WILL RETURN!
This entry was posted in 2007 - 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

