Anniversaries, Good & Bad

Friday, August 31, 2007

Bunched together at the end of August are three anniversaries for me.  The first happy, the second so-so, the third unhappy.

On August 29, 1980, I crossed the Fla./Ga. border for the last time. I have never been back. Never wanted to go back. Have a few friends there, but aside from being curious as to all the changes since I left, have never felt  the urge to return. I was so overjoyed that I was FINALLY out of that wretched state (wretched for me) that I whooped, hollered & sang as I crossed the border. I celebrate it every year. I arrived back in Illinois…

August 30, 1980. As it happens, that is the anniversary of my father’s birth (which I still observe although he’s been gone since 1990).  I celebrated his birthday with him but celebrated my return to Yankeeland even more. Went to bed & awoke…

August 31, 1980. My father woke me saying my sister Nancy was on the phone. Since I had seen her the weekend before (I made sure to see everyone important before I left Fla.), I assumed she was calling to make sure I had made it ok. Uh, no. Her husband had committed suicide by hanging himself in the garage & she had just found him. She had gone out there to look for some newborn kittens & found her dead husband instead. As can be guessed, she was hysterical, confused, overwhelmed. I didn’t know what to do for her. I offered to fly back down there, but she told me to stay.

I used to call her every year on John’s birthday & anniversary of his death, until she asked me to stop. I did it to let her know he was still remembered, but she told me she would sometimes forget (on purpose) & my calling made her feel guilty. I still make it a point to remember him, though.

Between these 3 days & the fact of my mother dying August 17, 2000, August is a strange month for me.  I suppose I could try to forget all these dates, but if we aren’t remembered after we’re gone, what’s the point of us being here in the first place?

About pegsiskatzencats

Middle aged cat lady, flaming liberal, gardener extrordinaire, I live for the Cubs, & HATE hot weather. Chicagoland native, I WILL RETURN!
This entry was posted in 2007 - 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

