Mother Nature Knows Best

Friday, February 29, 2008

About 10 years ago, I bought 2 torenia plants (wishbone flower). They are supposed to prefer shade/dappled shade. I planted one in a pot in our courtyard area, under a tree. It turned to green slime & died.

I had a plant hook next to the back door & so put the other plant in a hanging basket & placed it there. I was curious how it would do since the location faces East & is in full sun (in Houston heat) from sunrise to around 5:30 each evening. I’m sure you already guessed the plant thrived in this location.

The first surprise was that it would go to seed & die each year but each Spring the seeds would germinate & create new plants. In the “off seasons”, I  buy other plants to put in the same soil, just to have some flowers to look at until the torenia gets going.

Well, this year some odd foliage came up. It looked similar to a weed I have in my flower beds sometimes, but not exactly. There was a plant tag from last year’s off season planting, so I looked up pix of it that had close-ups of the foliage. My suspicion was correct & shortly after confirmed when some petunia ‘buds’ (they aren’t really buds, but don’t know what else to call them) started forming. A few days ago, the first bloomed (and is still blooming).

Now, the kicker is that I have been trying to grow petunias from seed for about 15 years, & I can’t even get them to germinate. Petunia seed is very fine, so “x number” of seeds are compressed & coated, to form pelleted seed (to make it easier to see where the seed is going). Never. Not once. Nada. Not a single point of green coming up. This year I have petunias coming up from seed & I didn’t have anything to do with it.

I think there’s a lesson in there.

About pegsiskatzencats

Middle aged cat lady, flaming liberal, gardener extrordinaire, I live for the Cubs, & HATE hot weather. Chicagoland native, I WILL RETURN!
This entry was posted in 2007 - 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

