Sarah Palin & The White Trash Vote

Sunday, September 21, 2008

There. I said it. Apologies to anyone offended by the epithet, but that’s all I can think of when I see this woman. With her “I’m just a good ol’ gal  who likes to hunt & fish (and dress my kill myself)” persona, trotting out her unmarried pregnant teenage daughter (see? I practice what I preach, I didn’t let her learn about birth control because abstinence is best) & making sure everyone knows her son isn’t going to some elitist college but instead is going off to shoot him a bunch of Eye-RACK-ees, I’m just waiting for the family to come out at the next photo op each with a tooth blacked out. Yes, this is just gut reaction to her & has nothing to do with what little I know of her positions. I really can’t help it, it’s my immediate reaction to her.

I had a very long paragraph here trying to convey what a mean. I went to Google to see if I could find a succinct definition of “white trash” & found where several other people have linked the term with Palin’s name & supporters. So, this feeling isn’t original to me, but feel free to lambast me for it.

When Mccain picked Palin as his running mate, my first thought was that it is a pretty cynical move on his part, picking a woman to scoop up the female votes that would have gone to Hillary. Sorry John, but I’m not voting for a vagina, I’m voting for a whole person & their views & actions.

When I learned a little more about Palin, I became more bemused, believing the choice to be an attempt to refute the common perception of the Republican Party as being for the wealthy & the true elites of this country (not the “Intellectual Elites” Repubs are always sneering at, as if education is a bad thing – I suppose to them it is, educated people will see through their BS). “See? We’ve got a candidate who’s JUST LIKE YOU!” Um, not like me, fella. I guess this is what they mean when they talk about inclusiveness under the Republican tent.

Quick funny to end this: I was on some forum the other day & one of the people referred to her as “Mrs. Moosilini”. Cracked me up.

About pegsiskatzencats

Middle aged cat lady, flaming liberal, gardener extrordinaire, I live for the Cubs, & HATE hot weather. Chicagoland native, I WILL RETURN!
This entry was posted in 2007 - 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

