Underwear For Christmas

Friday, December 05, 2008

Remember when you were a kid & saw the stack of presents under the tree (or birthday presents or whatever)? All the neat toys & totally useless stuff you’d been begging for? The absolute joy of greed satisfied?

AND THEN… There it was. The flat rectangular box. You knew immediately what it was, before you opened it. CLOTHES!!! Awwww Maaaaaan! Why’d they have to go & ruin a perfectly good toy orgy with something practical?  There was usually another package or two, smallish & soft, & you KNEW it contained new underwear & socks. Sucked the life right out of the day.

Of course, as an adult I now realize the necessity of including some clothes (that were needed anyway) as part of the haul. This way the parental requirements were filled & it looked like more gifts to satisfy the kiddies’ budding consumerism.

While this year’s “Black Friday” wasn’t quite as dire as predicted, it looks like there will be more “practical” gifts under trees (for those who can even afford a tree – or gifts). Will this season mark the beginning of the end of “rampant consumerism” & maybe people remembering the “reason for the season”? Would that be such a bad thing? I certainly don’t think so.

I enjoy Christmas shopping, because it’s limited to family & ocassionally a few friends. I buy things I know the person will like or has been wanting & it makes me happy to know I’ll be making them happy. I don’t buy just to have something to give. I think that’s what too many do, just going by the looks on peoples’ faces at the stores – as if they’ve just had dental work without novacaine. Why? Must it really be a contest? Maybe I’m just being naive. It wouldn’t be the first time.

For the record, I would be thrilled to get underwear for Christmas. : )

About pegsiskatzencats

Middle aged cat lady, flaming liberal, gardener extrordinaire, I live for the Cubs, & HATE hot weather. Chicagoland native, I WILL RETURN!
This entry was posted in 2007 - 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Underwear For Christmas

  1. alancard says:

    Since I started doing the Santa thing for the battered women & children’s shelter, I don’t buy gifts for anyone except the children and their mommies.
    I don’t allow anyone (friends or family) to buy me anything either. I will however, let them buy or donate money for the kids or the mommies.

    I found out many years ago that it’s true: “Tis better to give… than receive”.
    The recipients don’t know it, but I get much more out of it than they ever will.
    In fact, sometimes it’s difficult to keep a straight face during Santa’s visit.
    There have been a number of times Ol’ St. Nick had to dry his eyes on his way out the door.

    I used to dread Christmas, until I found the true meaning of Christmas.
    Now, it’s my favorite holiday!

    LOVE…PEACE…HAPPINESS… Alan (aka Kris Kringle)

    P.S. The hottie in Texas wrote:
    “For the record, I would be thrilled to get underwear for Christmas. : )”
    Do you have ANY idea how difficult you make it for me to uphold the wholesome image of Father Christmas… well, do you?
    You’ve got me walking down the street kicking cans & talking to myself.
    I hope you’re happy now!
    LMAO!

    Merry Christmas to a fantastic lady I’d be happy to call friend, for a long time to come. 🙂

    • Thanks for the reply & compliment, Alan. 😀 I thought I had replied just before I went to YOUR wordpress site, but obviously didn’t – the joys of almost no short term memory. 😛

      I think it’s great you “do the Santa thing”, esp. being for shelters. I’m sure even the moms are delighted by your appearance, letting them know they aren’t forgotten. Thanks for that. 🙂

      As for the underwear thing, trying to avoid TMI, it’s middle-aged lady stuff – my dainties ain’t that dainty anymore (practicality!). 😉

    • Thanks, Jan! 😀 I didn’t get a notification, so I didn’t know you had commented. I used to check the guestbook in my old site every day, just to be disappointed (*sniff*), so I started checking once a month – here, too.

      I hope the entry gave you a chuckle. 😀

Leave a Reply

